To CV or not to CV?

nietzsche.gif One of my least favorite things ever is updating my CV – I spent a stressful day this week updating, re-writing and re-configuring my CV and after hours and hours I still wasn’t satisfied that it even remotely represented what I wanted it to.

Firstly there’s the 1 page 2 page conundrum – 1 page seems the be the goal but for someone like me that has a shiz load of freelance jobs and projects its tricky to fit them all in. Some people say to leave out the less relevant jobs but personally I feel that none of them are less relevant – my skills are what they are because of all the variation that I’ve had. Also problematic with the 1 page is how to condense what the job entailed in a brief haiku-like passage.

Big event
Managed the team
The budget was under

or

experiential campaign
put it together
the client was happy

What I’d much prefer would be some kind of Nietzhein self absorbed essay on why I should be employed – titles like ‘Why I am such a good member of a team’ or ‘Why I come up with such good ideas’ would definitely be more enjoyable to write but I guess HR departments could really give a shit!

Mr Tantramar passed on this bog post from Seth Godin where he posits:

‘I think if you’re remarkable, amazing or just plain spectacular, you probably shouldn’t have a resume at all.’

and then

If you don’t have a resume, what do you have?

How about three extraordinary letters of recommendation from people the employer knows or respects?
Or a sophisticated project they can see or touch?
Or a reputation that precedes you?
Or a blog that is so compelling and insightful that they have no choice but to follow up?

I think this is awesome but also not really viable for a lot of us – a lot of jobs that I’ve worked on have not turned out how I would have liked them due to mismanagement from a higher level – or perhaps certain jobs went really well but there was nothing spectacular about the job – it was a standard job and I did it well but that happens all over the place. I guess having an awesome blog goes some way to remedying this situation – I especially think an important part of the CV is the interests sections – things that people do outside of work are really important – lots of people can come up with some good marketing strategy or put an event on etc but actually doing the job is only part of why people should employ you – I think.

There’s and awesome TED talk by some woman thats really into biology and animals – she talks about the ways in which she helped the engineering industry because of her knowledge of how certain animals evolved – they took a bunch of this knowledge and used it in some industrial design project and it worked really well – so yeah its important to have this cross pollination of ideas – but how express a fascination with travel and walking when you’ve only studied that stuff in your spare time?

I guess its back to the CV for the moment.

2 responses to “To CV or not to CV?

  1. The TweetCV is the way forward. Say it all in 140 characters.

    http://socialscripts.wordpress.com/2008/04/09/cv-v01/

Leave a Reply

