Meet The Bonsai: Chinese Bird Plum – Sageretia Theezans

So I’m really into these two Bird Plums – I think they have a lot of character and they have good leaves that stay small. I picked the first one up when I went to see Henry Moore so he’s related to the Japanese Holly (not by blood).

Bird Plum’s are semi evergreen which is why the top one has his leaves – the second one I got the other day from Columbia Rd for a fiver – I’m getting a bit bolder now so I chopped him up some and took off pretty much all of his leaves hoping to kick start some new growth. I think he’s pretty good looking.

One response to “Meet The Bonsai: Chinese Bird Plum – Sageretia Theezans

  1. I have this bonsai too. I got it for my Birthday.
    I’m worried about it though because some of the leaves are turning yellow. Is this usual behaviour? How often should I water my Bonsai? should I pick off the yellow leaves? Do I need to spray the leaves with water?

    Sorry about all the questions

    Fran x

Leave a Reply

